UK Piano Page Piano Discussion Forums

Countrywide Piano Centre Ltd
New Yamaha Pianos
Quite Simply THE BEST Discounted U.K. Prices For
YAMAHA & KEMBLE Pianos.

New Bechstein Grands
ukpp-logo.jpg - 6645 Bytesd

HAPPY HARRY'S YAMAHA DEALS
First Yamaha Dealer to offer 10 Year Guarantee!
Now see our Not To Be Missed Yamaha Piano Deals
Yamaha U1   Yamaha U3  Weekly deliveries to London  Yamaha GB1  Yamaha C3

Welcome to the UK Piano Page community pages, feel free to read the posts on our forums. If you wish to reply to a post or submit a new post you must register first, it's free. Please read the Forum FAQ.


For all your piano needs
 
Contact The Site Admin

  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch       UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

jxq68@yahoo.com

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Piano Forum Index -> Internet Scams Fraud
Author Message
jackg
Persistent Poster
Persistent Poster


Joined: 26 Apr 2006
Posts: 77
Location: South Gloucestershire

PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 5:13 pm    Post subject: jxq68@yahoo.com Reply with quote

Hi

sarah has sent the following message to you:
We are interested in buying, if still available for sale, the
piano,advertised in the uk-piano website! Priced 750 Please do get
back to us with some pictures , your last offer ! along with the present
condition

Many Thanks!
Justin & Sarah

Emailaddress: jxq68@yahoo.com

Internet IP: 213.185.106.24

http://www.uk-piano.org/used-pianos-for-sale/detail.php?id=53


Regards,
Second Hand Pianos
http://www.uk-piano.org/used-pianos-for-sale


Last edited by jackg on Sat Mar 24, 2007 7:25 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Barrie Heaton
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 30 May 2003
Posts: 1987
Location: Lanc's

PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 9:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

They seem to be regulars

Barrie,


From: jxq68@yahoo.com
Date: 17 October 2006 13:53:13 BST
To:
Subject: Interested in your Ad on the UK Piano Page


Hi Celia

Justin And Sarah in interested in:

We are interested in buying, if still available for sale, the rosewood,

advertised in your website! Please do get back to us

with the pictures of the one you have available, your last offer ! along

with the present condition

Many Thanks!

Justin & Sarah


Emailaddress: jxq68@yahoo.com


Hello Barrie

I don't know whether you need to know of two people running scams (I think) through
your page.

The first were JXQ68@yahoo.com. They kept saying they would send a cheque but I
waited for weeks, turning other interested people away, and nothing ever turned up.

The second was andrew_phil007@yahoo.com who sent a cheque for £2,500 for a £120
piano.

I don't know if you can alert others on the site to these people.

Regards
Celia

From: andrew_phil007@yahoo.co.uk
Date: 31 October 2006 12:52:28 GMT
To: ck17@mac.com
Subject: Interested in your Ad on the UK Piano Page


Hi Celia Kemsley

Andrew Phillip in interested in:

Hello,



I saw your advert and i wish to purchase from you.



Are you the owner ?

Recent Picture ?

Recent Condition ?

What is the the last price ?



I look forward to read from you.



Regards,

Andrew Phillip

andrew_phil007@yahoo.co.uk

Emailaddress: andrew_phil007@yahoo.co.uk
_________________
Barrie Heaton
Web Master UK Piano Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
atcwong
New Member
New Member


Joined: 17 Dec 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:10 pm    Post subject: Reply from jxq68@yahoo.com Reply with quote

From: jxq68 <jxq68@yahoo.com>
Sent: Friday, 15 December, 2006 3:13:29 PM
Subject: Re: Ad Interest

Thanks for the reply, we've seen the pictures and it's okay with us. We are located in Belgium and we are interested in buying the piano as a gift to Lilly on her birthday coming up very soon, we have a reputable removal company that we arrange for the pick up of the piano from your place.
We will be waiting to read from you soon with yoour last price so that we can start making arrangement on payment as soon as possible.

Kind regards
Justin & Sarah
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
David B
Persistent Poster
Persistent Poster


Joined: 26 Jul 2006
Posts: 78
Location: Kent, England

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've had these clowns too. Shocked

After a couple of months, a cheque arrived. Despite their apparently living in Belgium, the stamp is from Republic of Benin. And the agreed price had become &pound;5500!

The cheque purports to written on HSBC Bank plc "For and on behalf of the Carphone Warehouse Refunds Account"

Now if that's not dodgey enough, the "cheque" says at the bottom "This cheque paper contains a cross-keys waremark to verify hold to the light"

No such watermark.

At the top a bit of silver paper is stuck on and the words "this security cheque is hologram protected"

I haven't bothered to bank it yet, I'm waiting for some more to make the trip worth while Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Barrie Heaton
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 30 May 2003
Posts: 1987
Location: Lanc's

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

They must get some who fall for it as the postage must be costing them

Barrie,
_________________
Barrie Heaton
Web Master UK Piano Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
David B
Persistent Poster
Persistent Poster


Joined: 26 Jul 2006
Posts: 78
Location: Kent, England

PostPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2007 11:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I heard about this scam a couple of years ago, but to people selling stuff in the States. Over there, apparently, proceeds of cheques are credited a week or so after being paid in, but fraudulent cheques may take up to a month to show up, so by the time the bank realises that the cheque is false and asks for there money back, the hapless seller, thinking that they had the funds, has already paid out to the shipper.

But here in the UK, that won't work. I doubt that my bank would agree to even let me pay this cheque in, let alone credit my account with good funds a week later.

So why do they bother, if the scam won't work? Are they just thick?

BTW, I saw a great counter-scam a couple of years ago, where this guy engaged in a long email correspondence with this Nigerian scammer, and persuaded the scammer that the only way that he could help him (release of secret funds or the like) was if the scammer joined the guy's religion. This involved writing on his chest in red lipstick, and to prove that the scammer was a new convert, send a photo of himself showing the lipstick. Which the dipstick did. There's a website somewhere where these counter-scams are detailed. I must try and find it Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Barrie Heaton
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 30 May 2003
Posts: 1987
Location: Lanc's

PostPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2007 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

David B wrote:
I

But here in the UK, that won't work. I doubt that my bank would agree to even let me pay this cheque in, let alone credit my account with good funds a week later.

So why do they bother, if the scam won't work? Are they just thick?Cool


The problem is UK banks do accept them and *credit your account after 7 days then remove it after 15 days when no funds show for the overseas bank

Over the years we have had a few user on the site calling us to asking us if we know were the nearest Weston Union Bank is, when we have pointed out it is a scam they told us that the money is showing in their account

Barrie,

* Shows on you balance but not on your available balance and that is where the greedy get suckered in
_________________
Barrie Heaton
Web Master UK Piano Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Piano Forum Index -> Internet Scams Fraud All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Chris Venables Pianos

New Yamaha Pianos for sale. Lowest UK Yamaha Piano Price Promise on Yamaha Upright Pianos and Yamaha Grand Pianos. Official No.1 Top Yamaha Piano Dealer.














Barrie Piano Tuning
These Pages
are
Designed
by
[ Barrie Heaton ]