|
|
| Author |
Message |
jackg Persistent Poster

Joined: 26 Apr 2006 Posts: 78 Location: South Gloucestershire
|
Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 5:13 pm Post subject: jxq68@yahoo.com |
|
|
Hi
sarah has sent the following message to you:
We are interested in buying, if still available for sale, the
piano,advertised in the uk-piano website! Priced 750 Please do get
back to us with some pictures , your last offer ! along with the present
condition
Many Thanks!
Justin & Sarah
Emailaddress: jxq68@yahoo.com
Internet IP: 213.185.106.24
http://www.uk-piano.org/used-pianos-for-sale/detail.php?id=53
Regards,
Second Hand Pianos
http://www.uk-piano.org/used-pianos-for-sale
Last edited by jackg on Sat Mar 24, 2007 7:25 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Barrie Heaton Site Admin


Joined: 30 May 2003 Posts: 1997 Location: Lanc's
|
Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 9:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
They seem to be regulars
Barrie,
From: jxq68@yahoo.com
Date: 17 October 2006 13:53:13 BST
To:
Subject: Interested in your Ad on the UK Piano Page
Hi Celia
Justin And Sarah in interested in:
We are interested in buying, if still available for sale, the rosewood,
advertised in your website! Please do get back to us
with the pictures of the one you have available, your last offer ! along
with the present condition
Many Thanks!
Justin & Sarah
Emailaddress: jxq68@yahoo.com
Hello Barrie
I don't know whether you need to know of two people running scams (I think) through
your page.
The first were JXQ68@yahoo.com. They kept saying they would send a cheque but I
waited for weeks, turning other interested people away, and nothing ever turned up.
The second was andrew_phil007@yahoo.com who sent a cheque for £2,500 for a £120
piano.
I don't know if you can alert others on the site to these people.
Regards
Celia
From: andrew_phil007@yahoo.co.uk
Date: 31 October 2006 12:52:28 GMT
To: ck17@mac.com
Subject: Interested in your Ad on the UK Piano Page
Hi Celia Kemsley
Andrew Phillip in interested in:
Hello,
I saw your advert and i wish to purchase from you.
Are you the owner ?
Recent Picture ?
Recent Condition ?
What is the the last price ?
I look forward to read from you.
Regards,
Andrew Phillip
andrew_phil007@yahoo.co.uk
Emailaddress: andrew_phil007@yahoo.co.uk _________________ Barrie Heaton
Web Master UK Piano Page |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
atcwong New Member

Joined: 17 Dec 2006 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:10 pm Post subject: Reply from jxq68@yahoo.com |
|
|
From: jxq68 <jxq68@yahoo.com>
Sent: Friday, 15 December, 2006 3:13:29 PM
Subject: Re: Ad Interest
Thanks for the reply, we've seen the pictures and it's okay with us. We are located in Belgium and we are interested in buying the piano as a gift to Lilly on her birthday coming up very soon, we have a reputable removal company that we arrange for the pick up of the piano from your place.
We will be waiting to read from you soon with yoour last price so that we can start making arrangement on payment as soon as possible.
Kind regards
Justin & Sarah |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
David B Persistent Poster

Joined: 26 Jul 2006 Posts: 78 Location: Kent, England
|
Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 4:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I've had these clowns too.
After a couple of months, a cheque arrived. Despite their apparently living in Belgium, the stamp is from Republic of Benin. And the agreed price had become £5500!
The cheque purports to written on HSBC Bank plc "For and on behalf of the Carphone Warehouse Refunds Account"
Now if that's not dodgey enough, the "cheque" says at the bottom "This cheque paper contains a cross-keys waremark to verify hold to the light"
No such watermark.
At the top a bit of silver paper is stuck on and the words "this security cheque is hologram protected"
I haven't bothered to bank it yet, I'm waiting for some more to make the trip worth while  |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Barrie Heaton Site Admin


Joined: 30 May 2003 Posts: 1997 Location: Lanc's
|
Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 4:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
They must get some who fall for it as the postage must be costing them
Barrie, _________________ Barrie Heaton
Web Master UK Piano Page |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
David B Persistent Poster

Joined: 26 Jul 2006 Posts: 78 Location: Kent, England
|
Posted: Wed Jan 17, 2007 11:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
I heard about this scam a couple of years ago, but to people selling stuff in the States. Over there, apparently, proceeds of cheques are credited a week or so after being paid in, but fraudulent cheques may take up to a month to show up, so by the time the bank realises that the cheque is false and asks for there money back, the hapless seller, thinking that they had the funds, has already paid out to the shipper.
But here in the UK, that won't work. I doubt that my bank would agree to even let me pay this cheque in, let alone credit my account with good funds a week later.
So why do they bother, if the scam won't work? Are they just thick?
BTW, I saw a great counter-scam a couple of years ago, where this guy engaged in a long email correspondence with this Nigerian scammer, and persuaded the scammer that the only way that he could help him (release of secret funds or the like) was if the scammer joined the guy's religion. This involved writing on his chest in red lipstick, and to prove that the scammer was a new convert, send a photo of himself showing the lipstick. Which the dipstick did. There's a website somewhere where these counter-scams are detailed. I must try and find it  |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Barrie Heaton Site Admin


Joined: 30 May 2003 Posts: 1997 Location: Lanc's
|
Posted: Wed Jan 17, 2007 5:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| David B wrote: | I
But here in the UK, that won't work. I doubt that my bank would agree to even let me pay this cheque in, let alone credit my account with good funds a week later.
So why do they bother, if the scam won't work? Are they just thick? |
The problem is UK banks do accept them and *credit your account after 7 days then remove it after 15 days when no funds show for the overseas bank
Over the years we have had a few user on the site calling us to asking us if we know were the nearest Weston Union Bank is, when we have pointed out it is a scam they told us that the money is showing in their account
Barrie,
* Shows on you balance but not on your available balance and that is where the greedy get suckered in _________________ Barrie Heaton
Web Master UK Piano Page |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|